Music To Family Tree By

Music has always been important to me. It lets us relive moments in our lives and it draws images in the mind of things important to us. There have been those so entranced to the images or times recollected through music that they can smell the era.

I don’t think I have ever had a recollection so strong, but when I am working away on the family archives, I have a particular genre of music that I enjoy. Some call it new age, some call it classical, but I prefer to say it is medieval with a punch.

My favorite would have to be Blackmore’s Night. The band is fronted by former Deep Purple guitarist Ritchie Blackmore and long time fiancee Candice Night. They perform renaissance folk rock. It is an interesting twist on several ancient songs as well as a smattering of Blackmore’s own creations.

My favorite of the songs being this one:

Leave a Reply

